It Is All About Me!

Posted: 2013/03/31 in Uncategorized

ImageThe symbol of our Christian faith is not an empty tomb to celebrate the resurrection, but rather an instrument of torture, suffering, and death. The singular purpose of the Roman Cross was to inflict the maximum amount of pain and agony for the longest possible time – its victims seeking death but not finding it soon enough. All the while the modern culture rarely gives it a second thought, other than using it as a shiny trinket adorned one’s neck. It’s a stark contrast of a faith built on suffering and a pop culture striving to be comfortable.

Why?

In Luke 22 we find Jesus sitting with His Disciples at the Last Supper. He was eager to spend this last Passover with them, to explain the significance of it. He said to them, “I shall never again eat it until it is fulfilled in the kingdom of God. Take this (cup) and share it among yourselves; I will not drink of the fruit of the vine from now on until the kingdom of God comes. This (the broken bread) is My body which is given for you; do this in remembrance of Me. This cup which is poured out for you is the new covenant in My blood” (Luke 22:15-20, emphasis mine). The observance Jesus instituted for the church, His bride, is to remember His broken body and spilled blood all done for her… and to do it often.

Why not remembering Jesus by celebrating the triumphs and victories?

You may have heard the saying, “It’s about all God; it’s not about me.” Well, in this case, I do believe it’s all about us… about me, specifically. The symbol of the Cross is a reminder that it should have been me on that cross. I can identify with the Psalmist when he cried out, “For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me” (51:3) or when Isaiah confessed, “For our transgressions are multiplied before You, and our sins testify against us; For our transgressions are with us, and we know our iniquities” (59:12). I would even venture to say we may just be viler than those two thieves crucified with Christ on Golgotha that day.

I will remember the Cross today even in midst of His triumph over death for it is because Jesus took my place there so that I can celebrate here… thank you, Jesus, for making it all about me!

Leave a comment